top of page

Learning from 1st Graders

Of course, India is known for yoga and meditation, mindfulness and Namaste. One thing that surprised me was how that carried over into the schools.

Many classes I visited during my three weeks in India began their day with a time of focus and mindfulness. My first visit was to a 1st grade class at a school in Bangalore. Just after I entered the room, the teacher had the students stand, put their palms together in front of them, and shut their eyes.

They began a few minutes of quiet, focusing time. Time to breathe. Time to focus. She led them

through a few guided thoughts before having them stand silently for a few more moments. Then the day began in earnest.

This short moment of mindfulness was something all of the six year olds eagerly participated in. It helped to calm, as well as focus them for the day. What a great way to start the day.

I reflected on how my class usually starts: rushing through breakfast, hectic and chaotic, racing to get into the lesson so we did not fall further behind in our math lesson. Math time always felt rushed and out of control.

I decided I would try something new this year. I would use the mindfulness model I witnessed in so many classrooms in India.

I was not sure how my new fifth graders would take to sitting quietly and focusing on their breathing at the beginning of the day. I knew I needed to start on day one of the new school year so that it is a natural part of the school day.

We started on that first day with taking five deep breaths with our eyes closed. There was some giggling and many who chose not to close their eyes, but there were those who took it seriously as well.

Day after day, more students are participating. There is still the occasional interruption, but both my class and those who come to my classroom for math class are learning not to interrupt this important time of the day.

We have also used deep breathing during the day to bring back an air of calmness to the class when we are getting out of control or too far off task. It is as good as having the students run a lap or two to get their excess energy out.

I have found that it does seem to help the students focus better in the morning. More importantly, it is helping me get a calm, quiet, focused start to the day…that is the most important thing I can do for my students.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page