top of page

A New Adventure....

I received a note in the mail from a former student who was in my fifth grade class a couple of years ago. Khang arrived in the United States from Vietnam on a Friday and was in my class the following Monday. He spoke no English and was exceedingly nervous about school here in the US.

Fortunately, nearly one third of our school speaks Vietnamese. It was a challenging transition to come to a new country with a new language. I think I learned as much from him as he did from me.

I was bitten by the travel bug early in life. I always enjoyed family vacation road trips. Something about visiting some place new was exciting to me.

I have been fortunate to have had the opportunity to travel as an adult. Mostly I travel to Spanish-speaking countries so communication is not difficult. I have been to countries where I do not speak the language.

I will try to learn a phrase or two in the new language as a way of breaking the ice. I also learn how to say “Do you speak English?” in their language as well. This goes a long in demonstrating my respect for their language. More often than not, I encounter someone who does speak English.

I am preparing for a trip to India as a part of a fellowship through the US Department of State. The program is Teachers for Global Classrooms and has been created to help teachers create global citizens in their classroom, school, and greater community.

India was not even on my radar as some place to travel. I know little about the country other than the stereotypes I have seen and heard through televisions and movies.

Because of other international travel, I know that what I have seen and heard is most likely not an accurate representation of what I will see and experience during my travel. I have traveled enough to know that you cannot gain an understanding of an entire culture and its rich history through tv sitcoms or documentaries. Raj from “The Big Bang Theory” and the characters from “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel” are not representative of all 1.3 billion people in India any more than our movies represent reality for 330 million Americans.

TGC India cohort meeting in Washington, DC to prep for a new adventure togther

The India cohort at the Washington, DC, symposium in February.

I have learned that in Vellore District the primary area where I will visit and teach in schools speaks Tamil, along with English. I am working on greetings in Tamil and know that “Good Morning” is காலை வணக்கம் pronoucned “Kālai vaṇakkam”. (I won’t be trying to write in Tamil any time soon.)

I have been reading about the areas I will visit and talking to friends who have been there. For all I am learning, there is so much more that I do not and will not know before I head out on my journey with 12 other teachers from across the US.

I will remember the lessons I have learned not only from Khang, but also Jose, Thao Na, Ameen, Hafsa, and the many other students who have come into an unknown place and the new language of my classroom. I must be open to learning, sensitive to those around me, and adventurous enough to be willing to make mistakes, try new foods and new activities. I need to have that spirit of adventure and be open to what lies ahead.

I have already been told by my host teacher that I will be learning to play Kapadi, Pandi and Cricket with students. One is a ‘tag’ game; the other, a form of hopscotch. I watched a ‘how to’ video on playing cricket.

I need to watch it again. And again.

I think it’s going to be easier to learn how to write in Tamil.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page