top of page

A Sense of India - Through Sound

Stepping out of my hotel on the very first day in India I became acutely aware of a sound I would hear throughout my three-week visit to this amazing country: horns. Every pitch, duration, and decibel

imaginable.

As I observed traffic conditions and patterns, I noticed two distinct uses of the vehicle horns: one to alert the other to berate. Many trucks and transport vehicles had “use horn to pass” written on the back end of the truck. That was useful since vehicles passed one another whether there was a lane or not and whether there was ample space or not.

There were other, more pleasant sounds as well. I enjoyed the myna birds’ squawks and whistles. They seemed to be everywhere. The caws of crows filled the air as well. Many other birds that I did not recognize added to the symphony of sounds.

The open-air markets were a cacophony of vendors and buyers bargaining for fruits and vegetables, snacks and treats, household goods and automobile parts. Hindi, Tamil, English and other languages blended as one as we moved through the overcrowded streets. But one sound seemed to rise above the rest: “Selfie! Hey, can we take a selfie?” My teaching partner Tom and I were obvious strangers in these non-touristy village markets. Many said we were the only Americans to have visited their community. We obliged over and over and over, making new acquaintances through selfies.

And of course, the unmistakable sound of Indian music accompanied by dance of 6th graders left an indelible mark on me. The grace of the dancer blending with the unique sounds was a perfect way to kick off our visit to the Vidhyalakshmi Schools.

The sound I will most likely never forget are voices of hundreds of children greeting us as we passed through the hallways, classrooms, and playgrounds of countless schools.

“Good morning, sir!” “How are you sir?” “Welcome sir.”

I was surprised by the warm welcome we were given in the schools. Children and staff alike greeted us with warm smiles, welcoming handshakes and cheerful greetings. “Do you like India sir?” We were peppered with questions: “Do you like Indian food?” (The answer is yes) “What is your favorite food?” (I don’t know. I’ve eaten so much that I cannot remember.) “Will you come back and visit?” (I hope so.)

The genuine welcome I experienced enriched my visit to India and gave me pause about how I teach my own students to great one another, in addition to the adults and visitors in our school.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page